New album “Exitivm” is coming out June 25th!

Posted on Mar 26, 2021 in News

Pestilence Exitivm cover

A new album, on a new label armed with a whole new line-up and a new dynamic: no matter what, PESTILENCE or more specifically their maestro Patrizio Mameli are like the phoenix, rising from the ashes, over and over again. Three years after ‘Hadeon’, the band and their totally revamped line-up – besides former Dew Scented and Creepmime Joost van der Graaf on bass and Bleeding Gods’ Rutger van Noordenburg on lead guitar, former God Dethroned Michiel van der Plicht joined on drums last year – not only prove to be worthy of its golden legacy, but actually deliver with ‘Exitivm’ what is probably their best incarnation in over a decade, with the kind of instantly recognizable sound that will immediately make all ‘Testimony Of The Ancients’ fans drooling with anticipation while proving they’re not a nostalgia act but are living in the now. Recorded over two months last summer and armed with the crispiest production they’ve ever had, their ninth full-length is titled ‘Exitivm’ for a reason. Meaning ‘brutal destruction’ in Latin, those ten new tracks (plus one intro and one outro) are brutal yet progressive, drenched in a sci-fi atmosphere and transfigured by Mameli luminous solo work and subtle keyboards layers. Both a reinvention and a confirmation of everything the band has been standing for since 1986, thirty-five years later PESTILENCE are more than ever exploring the further outposts of the extreme metal sound on ‘Exitivm’.
Selling points:

  • A progressive death metal phenom, labeled on the same genre-defying scale as Death, Cynic and Atheist.
  • Founded in 1986, the band blazed the trail for generations of progressive death metal.
  • Pestilence boldly continues its legacy after two break-ups (in 1994 and 2014) and reunions (in 2008 and 2016, respectively).
  • Invariably guided by the long-established personality of founder, vocalist & guitarist, Patrick Mameli.
  • Much anticipated successor to 2018’s warmly received resurrection album, ‘Hadeon’.
  • All music & lyrics by Patrick Mameli.
  • Produced by Patrick Mameli & Jory Hogeveen.
  • Engineered, mixed and mastered by Jory Hogeveen.
  • Recorded at Pitch Note Studio in the Netherlands.
  • Drums recorded at Droomschool van der Plicht.
  • Cover artwork by Michał “Xaay” Loranc (Nile, Decapitated, Behemoth).
  • New band photos by Marc van Peski.
  • A new incarnation of Pestilence featuring a revamped line-up.
  • First album to feature new drummer Michiel van der Plicht of ex-God Dethroned & Carach Angren (live).
  • First album to feature bassist Joost van der Graaf (ex-Creepmime, ex-Sinister).
  • First album to feature new guitarist Rutger van Noordenburg (Bleeding Gods).
  • Pestilence is confirmed for Wacken Festiavl 2021.
  • Since 2018, the band performed to crows in Europe, USA, South America, Singapore and Japan.
  • In 2020, the virus outbreak forced Pestilence to cancel a co-headlining North American tour with Possessed.
  • In 2019, the band played several key metal festivals all over the word.
  • Pestilence was boosted into international recognition in 1989, being at the forefront of the scene.
  • The band’s album ‘Consuming Impulse’ was introduced into Decibel Magazine’s hall of fame in 2013.
  • … the same album was the beginning of all things great for Pestilence and marked its historic shift to death metal.
Read More